Who Do You Think Will Be The King of African football For 2013 ?

The annual CAF Awards is now in it`s 22nd
edition this year and the Awards Gala will take place Lagos, Nigeria.
Today,  the Next King of African football will be
unveiled at the Eko Convention Centre in Lagos; amongst the trio of Yaya Toure,
past winner of the last two editions; his Ivorian counterpart Didier Drogba and
John Obi Mikel (Nigeria).
It is Noteworthy that the first player to
have been named CAF African footballer of the Year on two occasions remain
ex-Nigeria captain Nwankwo Kanu, in 1996 and 1999 before Drogba duplicated the
feat in 2006 and 2009.
Winners of the prestigious honour have come from
either the midfield or attack; and that tradition will be respected yet again
this year as the contenders are within that scope.
In addition, the 14 players to have been
decorated since 1992 had and continue to remain amongst the foremost African
ambassadors of the world’s most popular sport.
When the roll call for the laureates is
launched, there is one noticeable observation; Nigeria is the country which has
the biggest number of laureates with five awards in total, two for Kanu, one
each for Emmanuel Amunike, Rashidi Yekini and Victor Ikpeba.
Patrick Mboma won it once coupled with
Eto’o’s four-time feat also gives Cameroon five titles, Cote d’Ivoire has four
in Drogba (twice) and Toure (twice) whilst Diouf is responsible for the only
two titles in the name of Senegal.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

One-time winners include Ghana – Abedi Pele, Liberia – George Weah (the only African
player to have been crowned FIFA World Footballer of the Year), Morocco –
Mustapha Hadji, Mali – Frederic Kanoute and Togo – Emmanuel Adebayor.
Another common feature is that all winners plied their trade in Europe at the time of
their coronation.
Awards winners
1992 Abedi AYEW PELÉ (Ghana)
1993 Rashidi YEKINI (Nigeria)
1994 Emmanuel AMUNIKE (Nigeria)
1995 George WEAH (Liberia)
1996 Nwankwo KANU (Nigeria)
1997 Victor IKPEBA (Nigeria)
1998 Mustapha HADJI (Morocco)
1999 Nwankwo KANU (Nigeria)
2000 Patrick MBOMA (Cameroon)

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

2001 El-Hadji DIOUF (Senegal)
2002 El Hadji DIOUF (Senegal)
2003 Samuel ETO’O (Cameroon)
2004 Samuel ETO’O (Cameroon)
2005 Samuel ETO’O (Cameroon)
2006 Didier DROGBA (Côte d’Ivoire)
2007 Frédéric KANOUTE (Mali)
2008 Emmanuel ADEBAYOR (Togo)
2009 Didier DROGBA (Côte d’Ivoire)
2010 Samuel ETO’O (Cameroon)
2011 Yaya TOURE (Côte d’Ivoire)
2012 Yaya TOURE (Côte d’Ivoire)

2013:  ?
Over To You >>> Who
Do You Think Will Be The King of African football For 2013?

Want Latest Controversial News? Download the Linjust app for Android Phones.

Do you suspect your loved one is cheating on you ? Find out with this amazing app.Records all calls, text messages, surroundings of the phone even when not on a call and more.

Looking For a Well-Paid Job? Start working as a Movie Extra & Earn up to $300/day

YOUR AMERICAN DREAM IS IN YOUR HANDS. 50,000 People and their families wins the GREEN CARD lottery every year.2017 REGISTRATION HAS STARTED! CLICK HERE to Submit your green card application today!

Study in USA with an official American Green Card. CLICK HERE

Enjoy sex again, save your marriage, all thanks to Gods gift! [United states only]

Like it? Share with your friends!

Leave a Reply

3 Comments on "Who Do You Think Will Be The King of African football For 2013 ?"

Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
Benjamin Chidi
Benjamin Chidi



John Obi Mikel


Mikel Obi


log in

reset password

Back to
log in